on this date - March 25

    1984In the longest NCAA title game ever played, the Falcons land their only national championship with a 5-4 quadruple overtime conquest over Minnesota-Duluth as winger Gino Cavallini converts a pass from Dan Kane at the 97:11 mark of the contest. John Samanski sends the game into OT as he capitalizes on an opportunistic carom off the boards and stuffs home the tying goal with only 1:47 to play in regulation. The game is marked by the outstanding goaltending of Gary Kruzich (32 saves), the tournament MVP, and UMD's Rick Kosti (tourney record 55 saves).

Bill Regnier

Regnier earned two letters in wrestling, finishing third at the MAC meet at 147 pounds at both a junior and senior.