header image
Home arrow Hockey
What began as a club sport in the 1960's, Bowling Green hockey quickly grew into a national power. A charter member of the CCHA, the Falcons were the first team outside of the ECAC and WCHL to earn a trip to the NCAA Tournament. In 1984, they became the first CCHA team to win the national championship, beating Minnesota-Duluth 5-4 in four overtimes. Image George McPhee - BGSU Athletic Department George McPhee won the Hobey Baker Award in 1982 following an 80 point season his senior year. He was the second player to be given the honor, and the first from the CCHA.

Brian Holzinger - BGSU Athletic Department Brian Holzinger scored 35 goals and tallied 69 points in 1995 on his way to winning the award. The Parma native finished his career with 102 goals.
1984 National Champs - BGSU Athletic Department
From the 1984 National Championship to five regular season and 12 CCHA tournament titles, Bowling Green hockey has a long and storied history. Learn more about this exciting past in the History Section.
1988 BG Hockey - BGSU Athletic Department
With two Hobey Baker Award winners, a number of Olympic champions and dozens of alumni in the NHL, Bowling Green's hockey program has seen many successful players pass through the program. Read more about these Falcon icers in the Players Section.
Falcon Poll
What's your favorite venue for BG athletics?

                        Affiliated Site